Support services for relatives

The Federal Council has commissioned financial contributions and support services for people across Switzerland caring for and looking after relatives.

Basis

At a meeting held on 5 December 2014, as part of its “Health2020” health priorities, the Federal Council approved the “Report on supporting people looking after and caring for relatives”. With this, it initiated various measures to support people providing care and support to their family members and to promote the reconciliation of caring for relatives with employment.

Project

Careum Research, together with the Centre for Labour and Social Policy Studies (BASS), has increased the distribution and forms of financial contributions and support services for people caring for and looking after relatives. For this purpose, the project team conducted a survey across Switzerland, of cantons, municipalities, not-for-profit organisations and providers of help, care and support at home. The report entitled “Betreuungszulagen und Entlastungsangebote für betreuende und pflegende Angehörige” (Care allowances and respite services for people caring for and looking after relatives) serves to fulfil a postulation of the National Council Committee for Social Security and Health. The report forms a key foundation of the Federal Council's action plan with the following four action areas:

  • Action area 1: Information and data
  • Action area 2: Respite services - quality and access
  • Action area 3: Reconciliation of work and looking after and caring for relatives
  • Action area 4: Care-related leave or alternative support options

Find out more about the Federal Council's report

Media report

The media have already picked up on the Federal Council's report. The Swiss radio and television company SRF presented an item on it in its “10vor10” transmission. Karin van Holten, a research assistant at Careum Research, spoke about it in the programme. One of the subjects discussed was care-related leave for people caring for relatives, with which several countries, including Germany and Austria, are already familiar.

Fernsehen SRF1, 10vor10: Bund will unentgeltliche Pflege unterstützen, 05.12.2014

Unterstützungsangebote für Angehörige

Der Bund hat eine schweizweite Bestandsaufnahme der finanziellen Beiträge und Unterstützungsangebote für betreuende und pflegende Angehörige in Auftrag gegeben.

Ausgangslage

Der Bundesrat hat an seiner Sitzung vom 5. Dezember 2014 als Teil seiner gesundheitspolitischen Prioritäten «Gesundheit2020» den «Bericht zur Unterstützung von betreuenden und pflegenden Angehörigen» verabschiedet. Er hat damit verschiedene Massnahmen lanciert, um betreuende und pflegende Angehörige zu unterstützen und die Vereinbarkeit von Angehörigenpflege und Erwerbsfähigkeit zu fördern.

Projekt

Careum Forschung hat in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Büro für arbeits- und sozialpolitische Studien (BASS) die Verbreitung und Formen von finanziellen Beiträgen und Unterstützungsangeboten für betreuende und pflegende Angehörige erhoben. Dafür hat das Projektteam eine schweizweite Befragung von Kantonen, Gemeinden, gemeinnützigen Organisationen und Anbietern von Hilfe, Pflege und Betreuung zu Hause durchgeführt. Der Bericht «Betreuungszulagen und Entlastungsangebote für betreuende und pflegende Angehörige» dient der Erfüllung eines Postulats der nationalrätlichen Kommission für soziale Sicherheit und Gesundheit. Der Bericht ist eine wesentliche Grundlage für den Aktionsplan des Bundesrates mit den folgenden vier Handlungsfeldern:

  • Handlungsfeld 1: Information und Daten
  • Handlungsfeld 2: Entlastungsangebote – Qualität und Zugang
  • Handlungsfeld 3: Vereinbarkeit von Erwerbstätigkeit und Angehörigenbetreuung und -pflege
  • Handlungsfeld 4: Betreuungsurlaub oder alternative Unterstützungsmöglichkeiten

Erfahren Sie mehr zum Bericht des Bundesrates

Medienbericht

Die Medien haben den Bericht des Bundesrats breit aufgegriffen. Schweizer Radio und Fernsehen (SRF) widmete ihm in «10vor10» einen Schwerpunkt. In der Sendung äusserte sich Karin van Holten, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin bei Careum Forschung. Thematisiert wurde unter anderem der Betreuungsurlaub für pflegende Angehörige, den mehrere Länder wie Deutschland und Österreich bereits kennen.

Fernsehen SRF1, 10vor10: Bund will unentgeltliche Pflege unterstützen, 05.12.2014