Global healthcare?

Views and theories on cross-border competition for patients and the future of health and wellness tourism.

Health tourism covers medical treatment and operations performed outside the patient's own country, with the person concerned mostly staying in the destination country for no longer than a holiday might last. Health tourists travel from industrialised countries to emerging countries in the hope of receiving good quality at low prices. People from developing countries look to industrialised countries for treatment of higher quality. There is no such thing as a typical health tourist, because all of them are after the very latest in technology and quality. They are increasingly keen to make their own decisions about their health.

By contrast, wellness tourism is mainly a “staycation” phenomenon. The predominantly female clientele uses the main facilities on offer in Europe's Alpine region covering Germany, Austria, France and Switzerland. Switzerland is seen as an example of best practice, having succeeded in integrating wellness into the “Switzerland” brand of tourism and health.

The future of health tourism will be shaped by increasing globalisation, demographic changes, advances in biomedical research, lifestyle changes and the logic associated with consumer goods markets. The authors of Working Paper 4 assume that providers in the West, given the high prices and good infrastructure available locally, are more likely to profit from niche areas of health tourism. The situation in emerging countries is rather different, since these have the capacity to cover the growing demand for treatment.

Working Paper 4

Sigrist, S., & Fenner, S. (2009). Gesundheit global? Zürich: Careum. PDF

Gesundheit global?

Perspektiven und Thesen zum grenzüberschreitenden Wettbewerb um Patienten und die Zukunft des Medizinal- und Wellnesstourismus

Der Medizinaltourismus umfasst ärztliche Behandlungen und Operationen ausserhalb des eigenen Landes, wobei der Aufenthalt im Zielland die Dauer eines Urlaubs meist nicht übersteigt. Medizinaltouristen strömen von Industrieländern in Schwellenländer, um gute Qualität zu niedrigen Preisen zu erhalten. Solche aus den Entwicklungsländern suchen in den Industrieländern Behandlungen von höherer Qualität. Einen typischen Medizinaltouristen gibt es nicht, denn alle sind auf der Suche nach modernster Technologie und Qualität. Vermehrt wollen sie selbst über den Verlauf ihrer Gesundheit entscheiden.

Der Wellnesstourismus besteht hingegen hauptsächlich aus Heimaturlaub. Hauptsächlich weibliche Kundschaft nutzt die Hauptangebote des europäischen Alpenraums in Deutschland, Österreich, Frankreich und der Schweiz. Die Schweiz gilt als Best Practice Beispiel, da sie es geschafft hat, Wellness in die Tourismus- und Gesundheitsmarke «Schweiz» zu integrieren.

Die Zukunft des Gesundheitstourismus wird von der zunehmenden Globalisierung, dem demografischen Wandel, dem Fortschritt in der biomedizinischen Forschung, einem veränderten Lebensstil und der Logik der Konsumgütermärkte geprägt sein. Im Working Paper 4 gehen die Autoren davon aus, dass Anbieter im Westen aufgrund der hohen Preise und einer guten Infrastruktur vor Ort eher in Nischenbereichen vom Medizinaltourismus profitieren. Die Schwellenländer können dagegen wachsende Behandlungsvolumen abdecken.

Working Paper 4

Sigrist, S., & Fenner, S. (2009). Gesundheit global? Zürich: Careum. PDF