Who is the festest?

Global competition in product and process innovation. What are the success factors?

Healthcare has always been both reliant on and driven by innovations, be they new products or services, new processes or structures. Working Paper 5 provides an international comparison of various factors which influence innovations within healthcare.

For example, different countries pursue different approaches aimed at strengthening the links between basic research and both clinical research and applications. The assessment of innovations is also analysed, using the Health Technology Assessment (HTA) as an example, and the role played by regulatory bodies is represented too.

The paper concludes by looking at the role of the population, which is assuming new importance with people taking more responsibility and doing more for themselves and given the greater availability of information regarding prevention. Healthcare is no longer a product to be provided by professional providers of health services, but something which citizens or patients can help deliver themselves with support from health professionals.

Three theories regarding competition for healthcare innovations emerge from the observations:

  1. The improvement of people’s health, even in Western European countries, requires fundamental changes in the public health systems.
  2. The innovation of innovation processes themselves will have to go much further than we thought.
  3. Empowerment of citizens and patients as keepers of their health is the key to more efficient healthcare innovation.


Working Paper 5

Bührlen, B./Fraunhofer ISI Karlsruhe (2009). Who is the fastest? Zürich: Careum. PDF

Wer ist am schnellsten?

Globaler Wettbewerb um Produkt- und Prozessinnovation – welches sind die Erfolgsfaktoren?

Die Gesundheitsversorgung war immer angewiesen auf und zugleich getrieben von Innovationen, seien es neue Produkte oder Dienstleistungen, neue Prozesse oder Strukturen. Im Working Paper 5 werden unterschiedliche Einflussfaktoren auf die Innovationen im Gesundheitswesen international verglichen.

So werden in verschiedenen Ländern unterschiedliche Ansätze verfolgt, um Grundlagenforschung stärker mit der klinischen Forschung und der Anwendung zu verbinden. Auch die Bewertung von Innovationen wird exemplarisch am Health Technology Assessment (HTA) analysiert sowie die Rolle der Regulierungsstellen im Innovationsprozess dargestellt.

Abschliessend wird die Rolle der Bevölkerung betrachtet, der mit zunehmender Eigenverantwortung und -leistung sowie mit besserer Verfügbarkeit von Informationen zur Prävention eine neue Bedeutung zukommt. Gesundheit ist nicht mehr ein Produkt, das von professionellen Gesundheitsdienstleistern bereitgestellt wird, sondern es wird von den Bürgern oder Patienten mit Unterstützung der Health Professionals koproduziert.

Aus den Betrachtungen leiten sich drei Thesen zum Wettbewerb um Gesundheitsinnovationen ab:

  1. Die Verbesserung der Gesundheit der Bevölkerung erfordert auch in den Gesundheitssystemen Westeuropas fundamentale Änderungen.
  2. Die Innovation der Innovationsprozesse selbst muss wesentlich weiter gehen als bislang erfasst.
  3. Das Empowerment der Bürger und Patienten für die Erhaltung ihrer Gesundheit ist der Schlüssel zu effizienterer Gesundheitsinnovation.


Working Paper 5

Bührlen, B./Fraunhofer ISI Karlsruhe (2009). Wer ist am schnellsten? Zürich: Careum. PDF