Skip to Content

Young Carers in Switzerland

If relatives are sick, children and young people often take on the responsibility of caring for them. However, their role is usually not recognised by the public. There are now accurate figures for Switzerland: far more children are affected by this matter than thought.

When parents, siblings or grandparents become physically or mentally ill or even die, childhood stops being carefree. Children and young people often have to bear the brunt of jobs that are normally done by adults: caring for and looking after their relatives – and sometimes even taking on such care responsibilities as administering medications or giving infusions. In most cases, even their teachers do not know what they are doing on top of school and training.

Children, adolescents and young adults who are carers – known in the field as young carers and young adult carers – have been the central research topic of Prof. Agnes Leu and her team since 2014. Agnes Leu leads the “Young Carers” research programme at Careum Research, the research institute of the Department of Health Science at the Kalaidos University of Applied Sciences.

Initial figures thanks to surveys

Until now, there has been a lack of precise figures concerning how many children and young people are affected in Switzerland. Other countries have made better progress with research in this area. In Great Britain for example, the issue of children and young people as carers has been researched for more than 25 years now. Two major national online surveys are now delivering reliable data for Switzerland for the first time. In a nationwide online survey, children from 230 schools aged between 10 and 15 were canvassed. Until now, it has been assumed that the proportion of child carers in Switzerland is around four to five per cent – similar to other countries for which studies are already available. This figure now needs to be increased. Almost eight per cent of children and young people care for relatives, with slightly more girls than boys taking on this role.


In a further online survey, 3518 experts from the education, health and social sectors provided information about what they know about young carers and how often they come across children and young people with care responsibilities in a professional context. The results of the survey show that experts are still (too) unfamiliar with the phenomenon of young carers. However, after the concepts were explained to them in more detail, 40 per cent of those surveyed said that they have come across young people to whom this description applies in their everyday work. This is not surprising: young carers are inconspicuous in everyday life. They perceive their situation to be normal and never really accept help – at lot of the time because they are ashamed. For example, they often only attract attention at school when they suffer from a lack of concentration or sleep or if their performance at school starts to dwindle. In general, experts wanted more information and specialised further education courses in order to become more aware of and more attentive to children and young people affected by this issue.
These results are an important first step in drawing attention to the situation of young carers in Switzerland. Political and social measures are urgently needed to better support young carers in school, training and work in the future. That is why Careum has also made a commitment over the years to come: various national and international follow-up projects are researching this important issue and are developing possible solutions and ways of providing support.

Federal Council report

At a meeting held on 5 December 2014, as part of its “Health2020” health policy priorities, the Federal Council approved the Report on supporting people looking after and caring for relatives”. The Federal Council makes it clear that the care and support of sick family members by relatives will become even more important in future, on account of demographic developments. In particular, this is because the Swiss healthcare system lacks the necessary personnel and money to be able to cover the increasing requirement with professional care. The Federal Council has therefore initiated various measures to support relatives and to promote the reconciliation of caring for relatives with work.

Find out more about the Federal Council report

Postulation on children providing care

On 2 September 2015, the Federal Council expressed its view on a postulation by CVP National Councillor Barbara Schmid-Federer. She suggested a report be produced on the situation regarding minors caring for sick or disabled parents. This subject is actually mentioned in the report published on 5 December 2014. However, it is not elaborated. The Federal Council rejected the postulation, giving the reason that, as part of implementing the action plan for the support of relatives providing care and support, it would pay particular attention to the specific requirements of children and young people providing care and support

Find out more about the postulation in the Federal Council's business database


You may also be interested in the following topics You may also be interested in the following topics

Zum Inhalt wechseln

Young Carers in der Schweiz

Erkranken Angehörige, übernehmen oft auch Kinder und Jugendliche Pflege- und Betreuungsaufgaben. Ihre Rolle wird jedoch öffentlich meist wenig wahrgenommen. Nun liegen für die Schweiz konkrete Zahlen vor: Es sind weit mehr Kinder betroffen als angenommen.

Wenn Eltern, Geschwister oder Grosseltern körperlich oder psychisch erkranken oder gar sterben, hört die Kindheit auf, unbeschwert zu sein. Oft schultern Kinder und Jugendliche dann Aufgaben, die normalerweise Erwachsene übernehmen müssen: Sie sorgen und kümmern sich um ihre Angehörigen – und manchmal übernehmen sie sogar Pflegeaufgaben wie Medikamente verabreichen oder Infusionen setzen. Meist wissen nicht einmal ihre Lehrpersonen oder Lehrmeister, was sie nebst Schule und Ausbildung zusätzlich leisten.

Pflegende Kinder, Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene – im Fachjargon Young Carers und Young Adult Carers genannt – sind seit 2014 das zentrale Forschungsthema von Prof. Dr. Agnes Leu und ihrem Team. Agnes Leu leitet das Forschungsprogramm «Young Carers» bei Careum Forschung, dem Forschungsinstitut der Kalaidos Fachhochschule Gesundheit.

Erste Zahlen dank Umfragen

Bis anhin fehlten genaue Zahlen darüber, wie viele Kinder und Jugendliche in der Schweiz betroffen sind. Andere Länder haben einen Forschungsvorsprung. In Grossbritannien wird beispielsweise seit über 25 Jahren zu pflegenden und betreuenden Kindern und Jugendlichen geforscht. Zwei grosse nationale Online-Befragungen liefern nun erstmals verlässliche Daten für die Schweiz. In einer schweizweiten Online-Erhebung wurden Kinder von 10 bis 15 Jahren an 230 Schulen online befragt. Bisher nahm man an, dass der Anteil der pflegenden und betreuenden Kinder in der Schweiz bei circa vier bis fünf Prozent liege – analog zu anderen Ländern, für die bereits Studien vorliegen. Nun muss dieser Wert nach oben korrigiert werden. Es sind fast acht Prozent Kinder und Jugendliche, die Angehörige betreuen oder pflegen und zwar etwas mehr Mädchen als Jungen.

3518 Fachpersonen aus dem Bildungs-, Gesundheits- und Sozialbereich gaben in einer weiteren Online-Umfrage darüber Auskunft, was sie über Young Carers wissen und wie oft sie im beruflichen Kontext Kindern und Jugendlichen mit Pflegeaufgaben begegnen. Die Umfrage-Ergebnisse zeigen, dass Fachpersonen noch (zu) wenig vertraut sind mit dem Phänomen Young Carers. Nachdem ihnen aber die Begrifflichkeiten genauer erklärt wurden, gaben 40 Prozent der Befragten an, im Berufsalltag jungen Menschen begegnet zu sein, auf die diese Beschreibung zutrifft. Dies erstaunt nicht: Young Carers sind im Alltag unauffällig. Sie empfinden ihre Situation als normal und nehmen kaum Hilfe in Anspruch – nicht selten auch aus Scham. So fallen sie im Schulalltag oft erst auf, wenn sie beispielsweise unter Konzentrations- oder Schlafmangel leiden oder ihre Schulleistungen schwächer werden. Allgemein wünschten sich Fachpersonen mehr Informationen und spezialisierte Weiterbildungsangebote, um früher auf betroffene Kindern und Jugendlichen aufmerksam zu werden und gezielt auf sie eingehen zu können.

Diese Ergebnisse sind ein erster wichtiger Schritt, um auf die Situation der Young Carers in der Schweiz aufmerksam zu machen. Es braucht dringend politische und gesellschaftliche Massnahmen, damit Young Carers in der Schule, Ausbildung und Beruf zukünftig besser unterstützt werden. Daher engagiert sich Careum auch in den kommenden Jahren: In verschiedenen nationalen und internationalen Folgeprojekten wird über das wichtige Thema geforscht, und es werden mögliche Lösungen und Hilfestellungen entwickelt.

Bundesratsbericht

An seiner Sitzung vom 5. Dezember 2014 hat der Bundesrat als Teil seiner gesundheitspolitischen Prioritäten «Gesundheit2020» den «Bericht zur Unterstützung von betreuenden und pflegenden Angehörigen» verabschiedet. Der Bundesrat hält klar fest, dass die Pflege und Betreuung kranker Familienmitglieder durch Angehörige wegen der demografischen Entwicklung künftig noch wichtiger wird. Insbesondere, da dem Schweizer Gesundheitssystem das nötige Personal und Geld fehlt, um den Mehrbedarf mit professioneller Pflege abdecken zu können. Der Bundesrat hat deshalb verschiedene Massnahmen lanciert, um Angehörige zu unterstützen und die Vereinbarkeit von Angehörigenpflege und Erwerbsfähigkeit zu fördern.

Erfahren Sie mehr zum Bericht des Bundesrates

Postulat zu pflegenden Kindern

Am 2. September 2015 nahm der Bundesrat Stellung zu einem Postulat von CVP-Nationalrätin Barbara Schmid-Federer. Sie regte einen Bericht zur Situation minderjähriger Kinder und Jugendlicher an, die erkrankte Eltern pflegen. Dieses Thema werde zwar im Bericht vom 5. Dezember 2014 erwähnt, aber es werde nicht näher darauf eingegangen. Der Bundesrat lehnte das Postulat mit der Begründung ab, er werde im Rahmen der Umsetzung des Aktionsplanes zur Unterstützung von betreuenden und pflegenden Angehörigen den spezifischen Bedürfnissen der betreuenden und pflegenden Kinder und Jugendlichen besondere Aufmerksamkeit schenken.

Erfahren Sie mehr zum Postulat in der Geschäftsdatenbank des Nationalrats


Diese Themen könnten Sie auch interessieren Diese Themen könnten Sie auch interessieren