Children and adolescents providing care

A project team is collecting quantitative and qualitative data on children, adolescents and young adults providing care in Switzerland.

from left: Urs Moser (Universität Zürich), Hannah Wepf, Agnes Leu, Adrian Würgler (bz-gs Olten), Corinna Jung, Marianne Frech
from left: Urs Moser (Universität Zürich), Hannah Wepf, Agnes Leu, Adrian Würgler (bz-gs Olten), Corinna Jung, Marianne Frech

Basis

There has been no systematic study in Switzerland to date that has investigated the needs of children, adolescents and young adults providing care and the needs of their family members who are sick or disabled. Little is known about their number, nor about the type and extent of their responsibilities or the impact of providing care on their health, well-being, psychosocial development, education, transition into adulthood, future employment relationships or economic participation.

Project

The project “Children, adolescents and young adults as family carers in Switzerland” is conducting a quantitative and qualitative investigation into the nature and characteristics of children, adolescents and young adults providing care in Switzerland. The study, which is supported by the Swiss National Science Foundation, thus fills an important national and international research gap. The project is split into three sub projects:

  1. An online survey to investigate awareness among professionals from education, healthcare and social services of the issue of young carers and young adult carers is being conducted throughout Switzerland.
  2. Using standard tools, a survey of 4800 schoolchildren is being undertaken to gather quantitative data on the number of children, adolescents and young adult carers and their responsibilities.
  3. Semi-structured qualitative interviews are also being conducted in 20 families with children and adolescents and their relatives needing care, to consolidate and validate the findings from the quantitative sub projects 1 and 2. This will capture experiences directly from the family members needing care and the young people caring for them that relate to the issues that were identified in the surveys and in previously published studies.

The findings are linked with significant evidence from other countries.

Interviewees required
Flyer (german) from Careum Research calling for children and young people providing care to come forward to talk about their experiences and responsibilities.

Project team

Prof. Dr. iur. Agnes Leu, Careum Research (Project Manager)
Prof. Dr. Saul Becker, University of Sussex
Dr. phil. Corinna Jung, Careum Research (Senior)
Dr. Joe Sempik, University of Birmingham (Senior)
Dr. phil. Martin Verner, University of Zurich (Junior)
Marianne Frech, Careum Research (PhD candidate)

Project cooperation

Dr. Kurt Albermann, Senior consultant Social-paediatric Centre SPZ, Specialist for child and adolescent psychiatry and psychotherapy, FMH Swiss Medical Association, Specialist for  paediatrics and adolescent medicine, Winterthur Cantonal Hospital
Prof. Dr. Urs Moser, Manager, Institute for Education Evaluation, University of Zurich

Funding

SNSF Money Follows CH-UK, 10001AM_160355
Lay Summary in the resarch datebase P3: p3.snf.ch

Duration

October 2015–October 2018

Pflegende Kinder und Jugendliche

Ein Projektteam sammelt quantitative und qualitative Daten zu pflegenden Kindern, Jugendlichen und jungen Erwachsenen in der Schweiz.

Urs Moser (Universität Zürich), Hannah Wepf, Agnes Leu, Adrian Würgler (bz-gs Olten), Corinna Jung, Marianne Frech (v.l.).

Ausgangslage

Die Bedürfnisse von pflegenden Kindern, Jugendlichen und jungen Erwachsenen und ihren kranken und beeinträchtigten Familienmitgliedern sind bisher in der Schweiz noch nicht systematisch untersucht worden. Weder ist ihre Anzahl bekannt, noch die Art und der Umfang ihrer Aufgaben oder die Auswirkungen der Pflegeleistung auf Gesundheit, Wohlbefinden, psycho-soziale Entwicklung, Bildung, Übertritt ins Erwachsenenalter, zukünftige Anstellungsverhältnisse oder ökonomische Teilnahme.

Projekt

Das Projekt «Kinder, Jugendliche und junge Erwachsene als pflegende Angehörige in der Schweiz» erforscht quantitativ und qualitativ die Natur und Charakteristik von pflegenden Kindern, Jugendlichen und jungen Erwachsenen in der Schweiz. Die Studie, die vom Schweizerischen Nationalfonds unterstützt wird, füllt damit eine wichtige nationale und internationale Forschungslücke. Das Projekt ist in drei Teilprojekte aufgeteilt:

  1. Es wird eine schweizweite Online-Befragung zur Untersuchung der Sensibilisierung von Fachpersonen aus dem Bildungs-, Gesundheits- und Sozialbereich für das Thema Young Carers und Young Adult Carers durchgeführt.
  2. Mittels standardisierten Instrumenten wird eine Befragung von 4800 Schülerinnen und Schülern durchgeführt, um die Anzahl und Aufgaben pflegender Kinder und Jugendlicher quantitativ zu erheben.
  3. Mit semi-strukturierten qualitativen Interviews werden ausserdem Kinder bzw. Jugendliche und ihre pflegebedürftigen Angehörigen in 20 Familien befragt, um die Ergebnisse aus den quantitativen Teilprojekten 1 und 2 zu konsolidieren und zu validieren. Auf diese Weise sollen Erfahrungen in Bezug auf die Themen, die in den Befragungen und in früher publizierten Studien identifiziert wurden, direkt von pflegebedürftigen Familienmitgliedern und jungen Pflegenden erfasst werden.

Diese Ergebnisse werden mit aussagekräftigen Belegen aus anderen Ländern vernüpft.

Interviewpartner gesucht
Flyer von Careum Forschung mit Aufruf an pflegende Kinder und Jugendliche, über ihre Erfahrungen und Aufgaben zu sprechen.

Projektteam

Prof. FH Dr. iur. Agnes Leu, Careum Forschung (Projektleitung)
Prof. Dr. Saul Becker, University of Birmingham
Dr. phil. Corinna Jung, Careum Forschung (Senior)
Dr. Joe Sempik, University of Birmingham (Senior)
Dr. phil. Martin Verner, Universität Zürich (Junior)
Marianne Frech, Careum Forschung (PhD candidate)

Projektmitarbeit

Dr. Kurt Albermann, Chefarzt Sozialpädiatrisches Zentrum SPZ, Facharzt für Kinder- und Jugendpsychiatrie und Psychotherapie FMH, Facharzt für Kinderheilkunde und Jugendmedizin, Kantonsspital Winterthur
Prof. Dr. Urs Moser, Geschäftsleitung Institut für Bildungsevaluation, Universität Zürich

Fördermittel

SNF Money Follows CH-UK, 10001AM_160355
Lay Summary in der Forschungsdatenbank P3: p3.snf.ch

Laufzeit

Oktober 2015–Oktober 2018